Interested in pursuing a PhD at UZH?

The doctorate is comprised of a PhD thesis as well as coursework. It serves as a qualification for an academic career or other demanding professions.

Content and requirements 

Writing a PhD thesis – independent and original academic work – forms the core part of the doctorate. The thesis can take the form of a monograph or consist of several publications on a single subject which have been published in scientific journals (a cumulative PhD thesis). You can find more information about the formal requirements in the doctoral program regulations for your subject area. As a general rule, however, the thesis should be of such scope and content that it can be completed within three years.

The required coursework serves to enhance subject-specific skills, but also goes toward developing transferable skills. All coursework will be recorded in your final transcript of records and Academic Record. Coursework requirements can be fulfilled by attending courses in your subject area, by visiting classes from the main pool of courses in transferable skills (transferable skills and university-level teaching), or, in some cases by attending courses at another institution. Alongside the required coursework (including transferable skills), it is highly recommended that PhD candidates develop their teaching skills.

Individual PhD and PhD programs

In many disciplines at UZH there are two types of doctoral programs offered: the individual doctorate and the structured doctoral programs (additional information). Moreover there are also interdisciplinary and inter-university schools or programs, partly financed by third-party funds. The subpage Doctoral Programs gives an overview of these programs. In the section Doctoral Disciplines you will find specific information about the doctorate in the discipline of your choice.

Interesse an einem Doktorat an der UZH?

Das Doktorat besteht aus der Anfertigung einer Dissertation sowie curricularen Anteilen. Es soll für eine weitere wissenschaftliche Karriere oder die Übernahme von anspruchsvollen Aufgaben in Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft qualifizieren.

Inhalte und Anforderungen

Das Kernstück des Doktorats ist die Dissertation: das Verfassen einer eigenständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeit. Diese kann als Monographie ausgestaltet sein oder mehrere zu einem Themenbereich verfasste und in anerkannten Fachzeitschriften veröffentlichte Publikationen umfassen (kumulative Dissertation). In den Doktoratsordnungen der einzelnen Fächer finden sich Angaben zur verlangten Form. Das Dissertationsprojekt sollte so angelegt sein, dass es grundsätzlich in drei Jahren abgeschlossen werden kann.

Die curricularen Anteile dienen der Stärkung individueller Kompetenzprofile, sowohl fachlich als auch überfachlich. Die erbrachten Leistungen werden in den Abschlussdokumenten im Academic Record ausgewiesen. Curriculare Anteile können mit Kursen im Fachbereich, mit zentral angebotenen überfachlichen Kursen (überfachliche und hochschuldidaktische Kompetenzen) und teilweise auch extern erbracht werden. Darüber hinaus wird empfohlen, dass sich Doktorierende in geeigneter Form in der Lehre qualifizieren.

Individualpromotion und Doktoratsprogramm

Viele Fachrichtungen der UZH bieten nebst dem Allgemeinen Doktorat auch Doktoratsprogramme an (ausführliche Informationen). Neben den institutseigenen existieren auch interdisziplinäre und -universitäre Promotionsstrukturen, die zum Teil durch Drittmittel gefördert werden. Unter Doktoratsprogramme finden Sie eine Übersicht dieser Programme. Über Doktoratsfächer erhalten Sie gezielt Informationen über die Promotion im Fach ihrer Wahl.