Image laptop on desk with writing "let's start"

Home Office

To support you in this challenging situation, we have created the following overview of tools that you may use working from home:

Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams is a tool designed for communication and collaboration. It includes all the features you may expect from a video conferencing tool including recording of conferences. Further it is also a collaboration platform. One may upload files and integrate other applications which for example may be used for a survey or a quiz.

Microsoft Teams is available to all members of the UZH. Communication is possible with all members of the UZH and members outside of the organization, if they have an account with Office 365. In one of this so called “Teams” up to 250 members may participate.

If you have you ever worked with any video conferencing tool you will find Microsoft Teams intuitive and you will be surprised by the additional features it provides. It is recommended by the University and also our personal favorite, as it is a tool that offers everything in one solution.

Useful tutorials for Microsoft Teams may be found here (Zentrale Informatik, German) and here (Microsoft, English).

Vidyo

Vidyo is a pure videoconferencing tool; it offers outstanding audio and video quality. One should be aware recording of videoconferences is not possible. 

A Vidyo conference requires only the organizer to have an AAI login, which you automatically have if you are part of the UZH. Communication with any members outside of the organization is possible. Members may be invited via e-mail and they can participate either with a computer or dial in with their phone. About 10 participants per conference are possible.

If you have you ever worked with any video conferencing tool, and if you have a quick peek into the instruction you will find Vidyo easy to use. It is recommended by the Central IT of the University.

Useful instructions for Vidyo may be found here (SWITCH).

Zoom

Zoom is a videoconferencing tool that offers outstanding audio and video quality. Zoom allows recording of videoconferences. 

To host a Zoom video conference, in the simplest case, only one member, the organizer, has to be registered with Zoom. It is now accessible with AAI login. The UZH has acquired a campus license. You can have group meetings with up to 300 participants with no time restriction. Further there is a limited amount of licenses for which you have to apply for separately, where you may have calls with up to 500 or up to 1000 participants. 

If you have you ever worked with any video conferencing tool you will find Zoom easy to use. The UZH allows the usage of Zoom but even with the license and approval, it is important to note, that Zoom may not be used for confidential conversations.

Useful information for the registration and usage of Zoom with the campus license may be found here Zoom (German, Zentrale Informatik).

Zoom tips & tricks, for meetings and online teaching:

Vlog #digifernunterricht by UZH lecturer Phillip Wampfler, e.g. for surveys on Zoom. (In German, please let us know about English alternatives!)

Article about zoom fatigue, which summarizes many of the technical challenges - and some antidotes:"Why is Zoom So Exhausting?"

video.meeting.uzh.ch

Video.meeting.uzh.ch is a purely web-based video conferencing tool that runs on desktop computers and laptops without client installation. Preferably, the Firefox or Google Chrome Browser should be used. For the use of video.meeting.uzh.ch on the smartphone, an App called "Jitsi Meet" is required. The Application is completely hosted within the private and self-owned data centers of the university of Zurich. Again, you should be aware that the recording of video conferences is not possible.

A video.meeting.uzh.ch conference only requires that the organizer has an UZH short name and the corresponding password. Communication with members outside the organisation is possible. Members can be invited by e-mail and can either participate with a computer or even dial in with their telephone. About 50 participants are possible per conference.

If you have already worked with a video conferencing tool and if you take a quick look at the instructions, you will find that video.meeting.uzh.ch is easy to use. It is recommended by the central IT department of the university.

Useful instructions for video.meeting.uzh.ch can be found here.

Image laptop on desk with writing "let's start"

Home Office

Um Sie in dieser herausfordernden Situation zu unterstützen, haben wir eine Übersicht zu Hilfsmitteln erstellt, die Sie für die Arbeit von zu Hause aus nutzen können:

Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams ist ein Tool für Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit. Es enthält alle Funktionen, die Sie von einem modernen Videokonferenz-Tool erwarten können, einschliesslich der Aufzeichnung von Konferenzen. Darüber hinaus ist es auch eine Plattform für die Teamarbeit. Man kann Dateien hochladen und andere Anwendungen integrieren, wie z.B. für eine Umfrage oder einen Test.

Microsoft Teams steht allen Mitgliedern der UZH zur Verfügung. Die Kommunikation ist mit allen Mitgliedern der UZH und mit Mitgliedern ausserhalb der Organisation möglich, wenn diese ein Konto bei Office 365 haben. In einem dieser so genannten "Teams" können bis zu 250 Mitglieder teilnehmen.

Wenn Sie schon einmal mit einem Videokonferenz-Tool gearbeitet haben, werden Sie die Microsoft-Teams-Lösung intuitiv finden und von den zusätzlichen Funktionen, die sie bietet, überrascht sein. Es wird von der Universität empfohlen und ist auch unser persönlicher Favorit, da es ein Tool ist, das alles in einer Lösung bietet.

Nützliche Tutorials für Microsoft Teams finden Sie hier (Zentrale Informatik) und hier (Microsoft).

Vidyo

Vidyo ist ein reines Videokonferenzwerkzeug und es bietet eine hervorragende Audio- und Videoqualität. Man sollte sich jedoch bewusst sein, dass die Aufzeichnung von Videokonferenzen nicht möglich ist. 

Eine Vidyo-Konferenz erfordert nur, dass der Organisator ein AAI-Login hat. Dies haben Sie, wenn Sie Teil der UZH sind. Die Kommunikation mit Mitgliedern ausserhalb der Organisation ist möglich. Die Mitglieder können per E-Mail eingeladen werden und können entweder mit einem Computer teilnehmen oder sich gar mit ihrem Telefon einwählen. Pro Konferenz sind etwa 10 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer möglich.

Wenn Sie schon einmal mit einem Videokonferenz-Tool gearbeitet haben, und wenn Sie einen kurzen Blick in die Anleitung werfen, werden Sie feststellen, dass Vidyo einfach zu bedienen ist. Es wird von der Zentralen IT der Universität empfohlen.

Nützliche Anleitungen für Vidyo finden Sie hier (SWITCH).

Zoom

Zoom ist ein Videokonferenz-Tool, das eine hervorragende Audio- und Videoqualität bietet. Zoom ermöglicht die Aufzeichnung von Videokonferenzen. 

Um eine Zoom-Videokonferenz zu veranstalten, muss im einfachsten Fall nur ein Mitglied, der Organisator, bei Zoom registriert werden. Zoom ist jetzt mit dem AAI-Login verfügbar. Die UZH hat eine Campuslizenz erworben. Sie können nun unlimitiert lange Gruppensitzungen mit bis zu 300 Teilnehmenden durchführen. Ferner gibt es eine begrenzte Anzahl von Lizenzen, die für grössere Teilnehmerzahlen separat beantragt werden können. Hier handelt es sich um Teilnehmerzahlen von bis zu 500 oder bis zu 1000 Personen.

Wenn Sie schon einmal mit einem Videokonferenz-Tool gearbeitet haben, werden Sie feststellen, dass Zoom einfach zu bedienen ist. Die UZH erlaubt vorübergehend die Nutzung, aber es ist wichtig zu beachten, dass Zoom nicht für vertrauliche Gespräche verwendet werden darf.

Nützliche Informationen zur Anmeldung und Benützung von Zoom finden Sie hier (Zentrale Informatik).

Zoom Tipps & Tricks, für Meetings und Online-Lehre:

Vlog #digifernunterricht von UZH Dozent Phillippe Wampfler,
z. B. zu Umfragen bei Zoom

Artikel zu Zoom Fatigue, der viele Herausforderungen der Technik gut zusammenfasst - und einige Gegenmittel: "Wie man zoomt, ohne auszubrennen".

video.meeting.uzh.ch

Video.meeting.uzh.ch ist ein rein webbasiertes Videokonferenzwerkzeug-Tool, dass ohne Client-Installation auf Desktop-Computer und Laptops lauffähig ist. Vorzugsweise sind dafür der Firefox oder der Google Chrome Browser zu verwenden. Für die Verwendung via Smartphone wird die "Jitsi Meet" – App benötigt. Die Applikation wird vollständig in den privaten und eigenen Rechenzentren der Universität Zürich gehostet. Auch hier sollte man sich bewusst sein, dass die Aufzeichnung von Videokonferenzen nicht möglich ist.

Eine Video.meeting.uzh.ch -Konferenz erfordert nur, dass der Organisator ein UZH Login hat. Dies haben Sie, wenn Sie Teil der UZH sind. Die Kommunikation mit Mitgliedern ausserhalb der Organisation ist möglich. Die Mitglieder können per E-Mail eingeladen werden und können entweder mit einem Computer teilnehmen oder sich gar mit ihrem Telefon einwählen. Pro Konferenz sind etwa 50 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer möglich.

Wenn Sie schon einmal mit einem Videokonferenz-Tool gearbeitet haben, und wenn Sie einen kurzen Blick in die Anleitung werfen, werden Sie feststellen, dass video.meeting.uzh.ch einfach zu bedienen ist. Es wird von der Zentralen IT der Universität empfohlen.

Nützliche Anleitungen für video.meeting.uzh.ch finden Sie hier.