Navigation auf


Graduate Campus

FAN Awards: Outstanding early career researchers

Call for applications The call for applications takes place annually. Professors are invited to nominate suitable candidates from their faculty.   
Selection process A jury composed of three professorial members representing the three academic areas and a representative each from FAN and the Division of Research Development at UZH.
Award FAN Award, CHF 5'000 per awardee
Award ceremony

Photos from the award ceremony as part of the Mittelbaufest in 2022 

Past awardees FAN Awards 2021 and past years
Organization GRC 
Further info Insight into call for applications
More about FAN ("Fonds zur Förderung des akademischen Nachwuchses")

Portrait of the award winner in UZH News


Portraits of Awardees 2022

2022 FAN Gewinner Michael Meier


Michael E. Meier
Senior assistant for constitutional law, administrative law and social security law (chair of Prof. Dr. Thomas Gächter)

University webpage

FAN Award in the field of law and economics for his research on the topic of
«Das Anrechnungsprinzip in der beruflichen Vorsorge»


2022 FAN Gewinnerin Kira Schmitt


Kira Dassler Schmitt
PhD at the Institute for Food Safety and Hygiene (PD Dr. Barbara Willi),

Dr. Kira Dassler Schmitt on LinkedIn

FAN Award in the field of medicine and natural sciences for her research on the topic:
«Antimikrobielle Resistenzen und Infektionsprävention und -kontrolle an der Schnittstelle Mensch-Kleintier-Umwelt: Übertragung, Intervention, Nachverfolgung»


2022 FAN Gewinnerin Mascha Schulz

Mascha Schulz

Associated researcher at the Department of Social Anthropology and Cultural Studies

FAN Award in the humanities and social sciences for her research on the topic of
«Convoluted Convictions, Partial Positionings: Non-Religion, Secularism, and Party Politics in Sylhet, Bangladesh»


Fotos: Frank Brüderli, ZVG (Mascha Schulz)


For this year's awards, the following young researchers have been nominated by their respective faculties (in alphabetic order):

Madeleine Geiger (MNF), Ursina Jaeger (PhF), Simon Klingler (MNF), Manuel Nägele (ThF), Cagla Öszoy (MeF), Damiano Pregaldini (WWF), Henning Richter (VSF), Tanja Rothgangl (MeF).