Navigation auf


Graduate Campus

FAN Awards 2023: Outstanding early career researchers

Call for applications The call for applications takes place annually. Professors are invited to nominate suitable candidates from their faculty.   
Selection process A jury composed of three professorial members representing the three academic areas and a representative each from FAN and the Division of Research Development at UZH.
Award FAN Award, CHF 5'000 per awardee
Award ceremony Event date for award ceremony will follow (GRC Newsletter)
Past awardees

FAN Awardees 2022

FAN Awards 2021 and past years

Organization GRC 
Further info Insight into the call for applications
More about FAN ("Fonds zur Förderung des akademischen Nachwuchses")

Portrait of the award winner in UZH News


FAN Awardees 2023


FAN 2023 Awardee Emilio Dal Re


Emilio Dal Re 
Department of Economics
Supervisors: Prof. D. Yanagizawa-Drott, Prof. L. Casaburi, and Prof. E. Miguel

FAN Award in the field of law and economics for his research on the topic of «Unintended Consequences of Organic Agriculture: Lessons from the Coffee Sector»


FAN 2023 Awardee Jessica Imbach
Dr. Jessica Imbach 
Teaching and Research Assistant at the Institute of Asian and Oriental Studies, 
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

FAN Award in the humanities and social sciences for her research on the topic of «Chinese literature of the future: technology and nation in science fiction and new media»

University web page


FAN 2023 Awardee Florian Wenzl


Florian Wenzl, MD
Center for Molecular Cardiology, Faculty of Medicine
Supervisor: Prof. Thomas F. Lüscher

FAN Award in the field of medicine and natural sciences for his research on the topic: «Sex-specific evaluation and redevelopment of the GRACE score in non-ST-segment elevation acute coronary syndromes in populations from the UK and Switzerland: a multinational analysis with external cohort validation».

University web page


Fotos: Frank Brüderli


For this year's awards, the following young researchers have been nominated by their respective faculties (in alphabetic order):

Glenn Anderau (PhF), Desirée Böck (MNF), Christoph Burckhardt (RWF), Florian Ingelfinger (MNF), Jasmin Kuratli (VSF), Tanja Rothgangl (MeF), Jasmine Suhner (ThF), Suzanne Tolmeijer (WWF)